Longevity and KP Astrology

Nakshatra Chinatamani was written by a brilliant Scholar  Shri Chandrakant Bhatt who was basically practising western Astrology according to his own writing but on insistance of his friend he started testing Kp Astrology which due to its accuracy influenced him a lot and he wrote three books in english on his methodology for reading natal and horary astrology according to Kp Astrology.

I am here for the benefit of new students in astrology putting some grouping of houses as written by Shri Chanrakant Bhatt in his books Nakshatra Chintamni, Further Lights on Nakshatra Chintamani.

As in Kp Astrology Grouping of Houses is the backbone of reading a horoscope.

Grouping of Houses


1. Consider the houses 1, 8 and 3 for longevity.


a).  Maraka Houses. The 12th to any particular house denotes non-existence of the matter signified by that particular house. So the houses 12 (12th to 1), 7 (12th to and 2 (12th to 3) are known as the maraka (death dealing) houses.

b). Badhaka houses. The house11 is badhaka (harmful to life) to those born in Moveable signs as their Ascendants; the 9th for those born in Fixed signs and 7th for those born in Common signs.


The Badhaka houses are more harmful than the Maraka houses. So for death consider first the Badhaka house and then Maraka houses. Saturn is the chief governor of longevity.


Consider the Ascendant for health.

Disease and Cure:

Consider the house 6 for sickness or disease.

For cure consider the houses 1, 5 and 11 (1st, health, 5th is 12th to 6. absence of sickness, 11th is 12th to 12. absence of bedridden sickness).


Consider the houses 8 and 12 for accident (8th-serious illness, accident, suicide; 12th self-undoing, confinement in bed or hospital).

Mars, Saturn, Rahu and Ketu cause an accident.