Mythological Names of Planet

Mythological Names of Planets

Planet as defined in Astrology includes all of the seven heavenly bodies which ancient astrologers could see in the sky, plus the three planets discovered since the invention of telescopes.

The Planets, listed in order of distance from the Sun (with their Roman/Greek mythical links) are:

Mercury – named after Mercurius or Hermes (Messenger of the gods)

Venus – named after Venus or Aphrodite (goddess of Love and Beauty)

Mars – named after Mars or Ares (god of War)

Jupiter – named after Jupiter (Jove), or Zeus (King of gods)

Saturn – named after Saturn or Kronos (god of Time)

Uranus – named after Uranus or Ouranos (god of Sky)

Neptune – named after Neptune or Poseidon (god of Sea)

Pluto – named after Pluto or Hades (god of Underworld)

Though the Sun (a Star) and the Moon (a satellite of Planet Earth) are not planets by the usual definition, for the sake of convenience astrologers refer to them as “Planets” too:

Sun – named after Sol or Helios (also associated with Apollo)

Moon – named after Luna or Hecate (also associated with Diana)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s